Derby-Shelton Rotary Announces 2017 Scholarships

2017 Scholarship Winners & Parents

Arlene Greco, President of the Derby-Shelton Rotary Club, has announced that the Club has selected seven Derby and Shelton High School students as 2017 Rotary Scholarship winners. She said, “Our club has been awarding these scholarships to outstanding students at both schools for decades now, and we are extremely proud to have another fantastic group of students this year.” According to scholarship chairman Ed Sheehy the task of selecting winners gets more difficult every year because the committee gets so many deserving applicants.

This year’s winners and the scholarships that they have won are: Ali Paolini, Shelton High School (Harry Fowler Scholarship, $10,00 over 4 years); Michael Leone, Shelton High School (Robert Dickgeisser Scholarship $2,000); Jaylan Leone, Shelton High School (President’s Scholarship, $1,000); Kiarah Souffront, (Edward Handi Scholarship, $2,000), Biana Abel, Derby High School (Dr. Edward Bednar Scholarship, $2,000), Kimberly Robinson, Derby High School (Deceased Rotarians Scholarship, $2,000) and Collin Gartland, Derby High School (President’s Scholarship, $1,000).

Click here to learn more about each of the scholarships or here to see the past winners.


Leave a comment