Derby/Shelton Rotary Club

Scholarship Winners 2008

Linda Holmes-Hannon presented checks to scholarship winners Nicole Miencik, Kimberly Rogers, Caitilin Youngquist and Justin Mbaswa at Rotary's Janary 8, 2009 meeting in Shelton.

Derby/Shelton Rotary Club has presented checks to the winners of the Club's Scholarships for 2008. The students were informed of their awards in June, 2008, but the awards are presented after the successful completion of their first semester at college.

The Club awards scholarships to eight students from Derby and Shelton High Schools every year. Each school is awarded three scholarships annually while two other scholarships are awarded to a student from either school. Students are presented their awards following the successful completion of their first semester at school. Click on the links to learn more about each of the scholarships. The 2008 winners are:

Derby High School Winner Amount
Martin Chromik Scholarship Sarah Timpko $1,750
Cas Turaj Scholarship Emily Kane $1,000
Deceased Rotarian Scholarship Kimberly Rogers $1,750
Shelton High School
George H. Tierney Scholarship Shannon Beach $1,750
Harry Fowler, Jr. Scholarship Justin Mbaswa $1,000
Deceased Rotarian Scholarship Caitlin Youngquist $1,750
Other Scholarships not awarded by school
Edward Handi Scholarship  Michelíle Soto (Shelton) $1,750
Robert Dickgiesser Scholarship  Nicole Misencik  (Shelton) $1,750

Members of the Committee

Back to Derby/Shelton Rotary